Baptism of Fire

343 pages

English language

Published April 26, 2014 by Victor Gollancz Ltd.

Copied ISBN!

View on OpenLibrary

View on Inventaire

5 stars (1 review)

Baptism of Fire (Polish original title: Chrzest ognia) is the third novel in the Witcher Saga written by Polish fantasy writer Andrzej Sapkowski, first published in 1996 in Polish and in English in 2014. It is a sequel to the second Witcher novel Time of Contempt (Czas pogardy) and is followed by The Tower of the Swallow (Wieża Jaskółki).

9 editions

Review of 'Baptism of Fire' on 'Goodreads'

5 stars

Baptism of Fire resumes where The Time of Contempt left off.
After the events in Aretuza, and the brotherhood has fallen, a new organization takes its place.

Without spoiling too much, I think this is the best book so far.
The new characters fit perfectly with Dandillion and Geralt, just like Yennefer and Ciri do.
Geralt is reminded of the utter importance of working together, and he ultimately gives in and lets his companions travel with him.
The motifs of loneliness, the baptism of fire, secrecy, and even perhaps something others would conceive to be a 'not like the other girls' concept, I think it's also a book that speaks out against stereotypes of women, makes fun of myths, and of the false ideas in our society about various topics.