Shatter Me (Shatter Me, #1)

English language

Published Feb. 7, 2011

Copied ISBN!

View on Inventaire

2 stars (1 review)

Shatter Me is a young adult dystopian thriller written by Tahereh Mafi, published on November 15, 2011. The book is narrated by Juliette, a 17-year-old girl with a lethal touch and is unusual in that it contains passages and lines that have been crossed out like a diary entry. Shatter Me is the first of a series of six books. The second book in the series, Unravel Me, was published on February 5, 2013. The third book in the series, Ignite Me, was published on February 4, 2014. The fourth book, "Restore Me," was published on March 6, 2018. The fifth book, Defy Me, was published on April 2, 2019. The final book, Imagine Me, was published on March 31, 2020. Of her inspirations for the work, Mafi has stated that she drew inspiration from "an interest in human nature and [humanity's] ability to overcome great obstacles".

3 editions

Review of 'Shatter Me (Shatter Me, #1)' on 'Storygraph'

2 stars

I love the writing style, and I think parts of the commentary on the climate crisis are great. However, that's about it. I didn't like the plot and the romances are insta-love. 

I think it's a shame, because I loved the first few chapters, with the way Juliette's thoughts are expressed. But as soon as the plot started, it quickly lost my interest.